Skip to content

Making Rosa Parks Day A Nation Holiday

On January 12, 2023, bill H.R. 308 Rosa Parks Day Act, was introduced by U.S. Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07) with 31 co-sponsors. Currently, there are eight states who have made December 1st a holiday honoring Rosa Parks. They are:

  • California
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Alabama
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Texas
  • Tennessee

“For my very first bill in the 118th Congress, I’m proud to be introducing the Rosa Parks Day Act!” said Rep. Sewell. “On December 1, 1955, in Montgomery, Alabama, Rosa Parks sat so that this nation could stand up for the values that our democracy holds so dear. Her quiet, dignified courage helped inspire the Civil Rights Movement and changed this country for the better. As the U.S. Representative for Montgomery, I’m committed to ensuring the memory of Rosa Parks’ brave sacrifice is never forgotten by designating December 1st as a federal holiday in her honor.” Read the press release here.

Rosa Parks is globally recognized as an icon who changed history by refusing to give up her seat on the bus on December 1, 1955. Her selfless act of defiance was the catalyst for the Montgomery Bus Boycott and the Civil Rights Movement in Montgomery, AL.
On December 1, 2022, I was honored to receive the Rosa Parks Leadership Award in Montgomery, AL, recognizing the work I do to teach youth to code in Montgomery. It was truly an honor to receive the award. I will continue to exemplify the life of Rosa Parks by being a model to others.